

## FDOT SECRETARY JIM BOXOLD NAMES TASK FORCE TO EVALUATE TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS TO RELIEVE CRITICAL I-75 CORRIDOR

October 14, 2015

Dick Kane, (850) 414-4595 dick.kane@dot.state.fl.us

**TALLAHASSEE** – Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) Secretary Jim Boxold today announced the creation of the Interstate 75 (I-75) Relief Task Force. The Task Force will develop consensus recommendations to advise the department regarding multimodal transportation solutions that will:

- provide relief to I-75 for passengers and freight
- improve travel safety and reliability
- improve statewide and regional connectivity
- and enhance economic development opportunities.

The work of the Task Force will support the overall <u>Tampa Bay to Northeast Florida</u> <u>Future Corridor Study</u> with initial emphasis west of I-75 in Alachua, Citrus, Hernando, Levy, Marion, and Sumter counties.

FDOT Secretary Boxold said, "Florida is the third largest state in the nation with almost 100 million visitors each year. Interstate 75 is the primary gateway into Central Florida and Tampa Bay for visitors and commuters and one of the most travelled truck routes in the state, it's critical to examine options to increase mobility and safety in this region."

The work of this group will be modeled after the planning process established through the East Central Florida Corridor Task Force (ECFCTF), which was created in 2013 to develop recommendations for future transportation corridors in Brevard, Orange, and Osceola counties.

Bill Killingsworth, Director of the Division of Community Development at the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (FDEO) and Chair of the ECFCTF, said, "The prior task force demonstrated the value of long-range, large-scale planning for making decisions about future transportation corridors in the context of environmental stewardship, economic development, and land use decisions. We look forward to working with FDOT and the I-75 Relief Task Force to apply the same principles in this study area."

Charles Pattison, Policy Director for 1000 Friends of Florida, who also served on that panel said, "I am pleased that the lessons learned with the East Central Florida Corridor Task Force will help to promote and implement FDOT's continuing commitment to coordinating good growth management with local, state and regional planning programs as it advances the Tampa Bay to Northeast Florida Future Corridor process."

Killingsworth and Pattison will be among those serving on the I-75 Relief Task Force, joining representatives of citizens, environmental organizations, business and economic development interests, private landowners, and local, regional and state agencies. (See attached membership list)

The Task Force is scheduled to begin meeting on December 7, 2015 and will complete its work and deliver the final report to Secretary Boxold by October 1, 2016.

Celebrating 100 Years of Innovation, Mobility and Economic Development www.dot.state.fl.us/agencyresources/anniversary/

## **I-75 Relief Task Force Members**

Florida Department of Transportation	Rich Biter, Assistant Secretary for Intermodal Systems
	Development (Chair)
Florida Department of Economic	William B. Killingsworth, Director of Community
Opportunity	Development (Vice-Chair)
Florida Department of Environmental	Gary Clark, Deputy Secretary for Land and Recreation
Protection	
North Central Florida Regional	Scott Koons, Executive Director
Planning Council	
Northeast Florida Regional Council	Brian Teeple, Executive Director
Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council	Avera Wynne, Planning Director
East Central Florida Regional Planning	Hugh Harling, Executive Director
Council	
Alachua County	The Honorable Charles Chestnut, County Commissioner
Citrus County	The Honorable Scott Adams, County Commissioner
Hernando County	The Honorable Nick Nicholson, County Commissioner
Levy County	The Honorable John Meeks, County Commissioner
Marion County	The Honorable Stan McClain, County Commissioner
Sumter County	The Honorable Don Hahnfeldt, County Commissioner
Environmental/Conservation	Charles Lee, Director of Advocacy, Audubon Florida
Environmental/Conservation	Janet Bowman, Director of Legislative Policy & Strategies,
	The Nature Conservancy
Growth Management/Land Use	Charles Pattison, Policy Director, 1000 Friends of Florida
Business/Economic Development	Rebecca Bays, Owner, Insurance Resources & Risk
	Management
Business/Economic Development	Kevin T. Sheilley, President & CEO, Ocala/Marion County
	Chamber and Economic Partnership
Private Landowner	Todd Powell, General Manager, Real Estate, Plum Creek
	Timber Company, Inc.
Education/Research	Jane Adams, Vice President for University Relations,
	University of Florida
Citizen	Mike Sizemore
Florida Transportation Plan	The Honorable Matt Surrency, Mayor, City of Hawthorne
Steering Committee	



